BDA honours and awards announced: Mili Doshi receives brand new Award for Excellence


  Posted by: Dental Design      15th May 2024

Fourteen individuals were honoured on Thursday 9 May, in the BDA’s latest round of honours and awards, for their outstanding achievements and commitment to the dental profession and the BDA.

This year, we introduced a brand new Award for Excellence, which aims to recognise colleagues at any stage of their career. The inaugural recipient of this award is Mili Doshie, Consultant in Special Care Dentistry Surrey and Sussex Healthcare Consultant in Dentistry Royal Hospital for Neurodisability.

At the ceremony Richard Graham was also installed as the BDA’s President for 2024/25.

Roz McMullan, Chair of the BDA’s Honours and Awards Committee, said:

“It is wonderful to be able to celebrate and highlight the work of our community, and this event was a great opportunity to catch up with friends old and new. We are proud to be able to highlight the work of those across the full spectrum of the profession who have gone above and beyond, making our craft better.”

How to nominate

The BDA encourages members to be creative in their nominations – we want to hear about great work and innovations that are happening at local, national or international levels.

If you know of any colleagues or peers that deserve recognition, we recommend you contact your Branch/Section, as all nominations go via this important network. You can find out more about the criteria and how to nominate.

The deadline for the next round of nominations is 31 May 2024.

Honours and Awards recipients 2023-24

The full list of BDA Honours and Awards recipients for 2023-24:

Fellowship Medal

Honours outstanding and distinguished service to the profession and the BDA.

Dr Ros Keeton, Chair of the BDA Benevolent Fund

Michael Watson OBE, retired GDP and dental journalist

John Tomes Medal

Honours outstanding scientific work or distinguished service in the medical or allied services.

Linda Greenwall, Prosthodontist and Specialist Restorative Dentistry

Professor Philip Lumley, Deputy Head of College, College of Medical and Dental Sciences, The University of Birmingham, Professor of Endodontology and Honorary Consultant in Restorative Dentistry, Birmingham Community Health Care Foundation Trust, Specialist in Endodontics.

Life Membership

This honour is usually awarded after retirement and celebrates long and valuable service to the BDA.

Louise Foster, Specialist in Special Care Dentistry

Bryan Harvey, Senior Dento-legal Advisor and retired GDP

Chris Keeton, retired GDP

Derek Manson, retired GDP

Jancy Pope, retired specialist and honorary consultant in paediatric dentistry

Roll of Distinction

This award honours outstanding services to UK dentistry and non-dentists can be nominated.

Fintan Hourihan, Chief Executive, Irish Dental Association

Award for Excellence

This new award category celebrates dentists at any stage of their career who are contributing to excellence in their relevant field/s.

Mili Doshi, Consultant in Special Care Dentistry Surrey and Sussex Healthcare and Consultant in Dentistry Royal Hospital for Neurodisability

Certificate of Merit for Services to the Profession

This award recognises special service to dentistry at any level and can be awarded to earlier career dentists for their commitment to the profession.

Nadia Ahmed, Consultant and Specialist Orthodontist

David McCaughey, specialist in Restorative Dentistry and former President of the British Society for Restorative Dentistry

Owen Thompson, GDP

Join our
Mailing List

Sign up to our newsletter and keep up to date on the latest happenings in the dental market.

Sign up today